Clinician Investigator Program Committee

The CIP is administered by a Committee composed of faculty and CIP trainees. Faculty are chosen among the clinical departments and graduate units that contribute to the CIP. The Committee has the following Terms of Reference:


The CIP Committee assists the director in the planning, organization and supervision of the RCPSC accredited program.


Membership includes representatives and/or CIP Directors from Departments and Academic Units and CIP Resident representatives.


  • Selection of CIP residents with specific adjudication of research projects, research environment, and relationship to clinical training;
  • Approval of supervisors; for trainees in the postdoctoral stream (non-graduate degree) review of research advisory committees and additional mentors;
  • Ensuring that CIP policies, and procedures, are in compliance with the standards from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada;
  • Coordination between the CIP and Departments and Academic Units related to the implementation of the CIP;
  • Ensuring that records of all research Residents enrolled in the CIP including interim and final evaluations are in order;
  • Advising the CIP Director regarding any issues related to student progress;
  • Verification of satisfactory completion by the resident of the research component of the program based on RCPSC standards;
  • Review and implementation of the CIP curriculum.

The composition of the CIP Committee is as follows:


Dr. Nicola Jones
Director, Integrated Physician Scientist Program, University of Toronto
Senior Scientist, Cell Biology Program, Hospital for Sick Children
Professor of Paediatrics and Physiology, University of Toronto
Chair, Canada Child Health Clinician Scientist Program (
President-Elect, Canadian Association of Gastroenterology

Faculty Members:

Dr. Mamatha Bhat
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

Dr. Charles de Mestral
Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery

Dr. Lillian Gien
Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Neil Goldenberg
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatric Anesthesiology

Dr. Liisa Jaakkimainen
Associate Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine

Dr. Marcus Selzner
Professor, Department of Surgery
Institute of Medical Sciences

Dr. Uri Tabori
Professor, Department of Paediatrics

Dr. Jill Tinmouth
Associate Professor, Clinical Epidemiology & Health Care Research
Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation

Dr. Catharine Walsh
Professor, Surgery (Wilson Centre Representative)

Resident Representatives:

Dr. Brandon Maser - Pediatrics resident in the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation 

Elections to replace trainee representatives are held as required.

Dr. Meredith Giuliani
Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education

CIP Program Coordinator:
Julie Amato
Phone: (416) 978-7189