CIP Committee

The CIP is administered by a committee composed of faculty and CIP trainees. Faculty are chosen among the clinical departments and graduate units that contribute to the CIP. The Committee has the following terms of reference:

The CIP Committee assists the CIP director in the planning, organization and supervision of the RCPSC accredited program.

Membership includes representatives and/or CIP Directors from Departments and Academic Units and CIP Resident representatives.


  • Selection of CIP residents with specific adjudication of research projects, research environment, and relationship to clinical training;
  • Approval of supervisors; for trainees in the postdoctoral stream (non-graduate degree) review of research advisory committees and additional mentors;
  • Ensuring that CIP policies, and procedures, are in compliance with the standards from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada;
  • Coordination between the CIP and Departments and Academic Units related to the implementation of the CIP;
  • Ensuring that records of all research Residents enrolled in the CIP including interim and final evaluations are in order;
  • Advising the CIP Director regarding any issues related to student progress;
  • Verification of satisfactory completion by the resident of the research component of the program based on RCPSC standards;
  • Review and implementation of the CIP curriculum.

The composition of the CIP Committee is as follows:

Dr. Nicola Jones
Director, Integrated Physician Scientist Program, University of Toronto
Senior Scientist, Cell Biology Program, Hospital for Sick Children
Professor of Paediatrics and Physiology, University of Toronto
Chair, Canada Child Health Clinician Scientist Program (
President-Elect, Canadian Association of Gastroenterology

Faculty Members:

Dr. Sinziana Avramescu
Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

Dr. Robert EW Chen
Professor, Department of Medicine
Director, Clinician-Scientist Program

Dr. Robert Fowler
Associate Professor, Clinical Epidemiology & Health Care Research
Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation

Dr. Benjamin Goldstein
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Director, Clinician Scientist Program

Dr. Nicola Jones
Professor, Department of Paediatrics
Clinician Scientist

Dr. Andrea McCart
Associate Professor, Department of Surgery
Associate Member, Institute of Medical Science

Dr. Alan Moody
Associate Professor, Medical Imaging
Director of Research Education – Diagnostic Imaging

Dr. Barry Pakes
Assistant Professor, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
Clinical Public Health Division

Dr. Uri Tabori
Professor, Department of Paediatrics

Dr. Vasundara Venkateswaran
Associate Professor & Graduate Coordinator (Surgery)
Institute of Medical Science

Dr. Catharine Walsh
Professor, Surgery (Wilson Centre Representative)

Dr. Mark Yudin
Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology


Resident Representatives

Dr. Alexandre Boutet
Diagnostic Radiology/Medical Imaging resident in the Institute of Medical Science graduate unit

Dr. Benjamin Davidson
Neurosurgery resident in the Institute of Medical Science graduate unit

Dr. Naheed Jivraj
Anestheia resident in the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation graduate unit

Dr. Jennifer Kwan
Radiation Oncology resident in the Institute of Medical Science graduate unit

Dr. Aleksandra Leligdowicz
Adult Critical Care Medicine postdoctoral fellow

Dr. Suppiah Suganth
Neurosurgery resident in the Institute of Medical Science graduate unit


Ex officio Member:
Dr. Glen Bandiera
Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education

CIP Program Coordinator:
Julie Amato
Phone: (416) 978-7189