Funding Resources

 

While enrolled as graduate trainees, CIP participants will not be eligible to obtain clinical earnings.  Funding for the research portion of the CIP is available from a wide variety of external and internal sources. 

CIP participants should discuss funding alternatives with their Program Director, Graduate Coordinator, and Research Supervisor.   Participants should also contact their graduate unit about award opportunities and the deadlines for these awards.  Most graduate unit websites will provide information on awards such as the eligibility requirements and application deadlines. 

Tuition Fees:

Like all other graduate trainees, CIP trainees must pay tuition fees to the School of Graduate Studies.  For a fees schedule, contact your graduate unit, the School of Graduate Studies or visit the following website:  http://www.fees.utoronto.ca/

Postgraduate Medical Education Registration Fee:  CIP trainees must pay the annual PGME registration fee.

Useful websites for finding funding resources:
Faculty of Medicine Research Office (FMRO)
Community of Science, Inc. (COS) – sign up to get specific funding alerts
Research and Innovation, Research Funding Opportunities (searchable database)

Departmental Funding Sources:

Department of Medicine, “Clinician-Scientist Training Program”

Joanna King, Research Administrator

Fraser Elliot Bldg. 3-805

190 Elizabeth Street, Toronto, ON, M5G 2C4

Phone: (416) 978-1549    Fax: (416) 978-7230

e-mail:  joanna.king@utoronto.ca

 

Department of Surgery, “Surgeon Scientist Program”

Val Cabral, Research Program Manager

Department of Surgery Research Office, Peter Gilgan Centre for Research and Learning

686 Bay St., 16th Floor, Room 9-702

Phone: (416) 813-2178    Fax: 416-813-5252

e-mail:  val.cabral@sickkids.ca

 

Department of Psychiatry, “Clinician Scientist Program”

Benjamin Goldstein, Director of the Clinician Scientist Program, Department of Psychiatry, 250 College Street, 8th Floor

Toronto, Ontario M5T 1R8

Phone:  (416) 979-6948

e-mail: benjamin.goldstein@sunnybrook.ca

Other Departments: Below

Candidates should discuss funding opportunities for research training with their Program Director and Supervisor.

 

Other Contacts:

 

a) Pediatrics: Core Pediatrics trainees should contact Dr. Adelle Atkinson, Program Director, adelle.atkinson@sickkids.ca; Tel: 416-813-8627
b) Obstetrics & Gynaecology Dr. Donna Steele, Director 92 College Street, 2nd floor, Toronto, ON M5G 1L4 donna.steele@utoronto.ca ; Tel: 416-978-6830
c) Anesthesia Dr. Mark Levine, Program Director Room 121, Fitzgerald Building, 150 College Street Toronto, ON M5S 3E2 mark.levine@utoronto.ca; Tel: 416-946-0608
d) Ophthalmology Dr. Wai-Ching Lam Toronto Western Hospital, East Wing 6-432 399 Bathurst St., Toronto, ON M5T 2S8 waiching.lam@utoronto.ca; Tel: 416-603-5376
e) Radiation Oncology Dr. Barbara-Ann Millar Princess Margaret Hospital, Suite 5-944, 610 University Ave., Toronto, ON M5G 2L7 barbara-ann.millar@rmp.uhn.on.ca; Tel: 416-946-2131
f) Diagnostic Radiology Dr. Linda Probyn University of Toronto Department of Medical Imaging 263 McCaul Street, 4th Floor Toronto, ON M5T 1W7 linda.probyn@utoronto.ca